TINY TUESDAY - ANYONE WHO HAD A HEART - BCAM10

Those who know me well will know I like nothing better than a cup of coffee and a cake, so when our friends, Heather and Michael came for coffee last week, I was delighted when she gave me a pink cupcake and immediately said that it would fit in well with the BCAM challenge.  She said she knew that and that was the reason she had bought it for me, but probably best that I didn’t eat it as it was made specially to go in the bath - good job she told me before I sank my teeth into the icing!

The tiny heart on the top is a leftover from when I led Worship at Church a couple of weeks ago and I have also been out and bought several other packs.  I have been giving them away to people - some I know and some I don't - and just tell them, as I place a small wooden heart in their hand, that it is to bless them.  I am amazed at how much a little piece of wood, in the shape of a heart, can move someone so much.  I have had hugs, looks of disbelief, smiles and even tears from those to whom I have given a heart.  

One lady I spoke to in Jack’s last week was there with her newborn baby.  The baby was dressed all in white, which is quite unusual these days, as many mothers tend to dress both boys and girls in quite garish colours (well that’s how it looks to me) so it was good to see a newborn in white and it was obviously a hand-knitted cardigan.  I gently touched the baby’s hand and said how lovely he or she was when the mother told me that they had just registered his birth.  I asked his name and she told me it was Marcus - so I asked if it was with a “c” or a “k”.  The father, who had joined us, having ordered their coffee said proudly that it was spelt with a “c” - Marcus.  

I then asked the young mother how she was and she almost cried as she said “No-one has ever asked me how I am - everyone wants to know about the baby, but no-one asks about me, so thank you!”  This really moved me, so after chatting to her a little more, I got a plain wooden heart out of my purse and gave it to her and said it was to bless her - whereupon she spoke to the baby and said “We’ll treasure this, won’t we Marcus.”

How wonderful to have the privilege of blessing a new mother - and I hope I may see her again - I will certainly remember her baby’s name!

“Courage doesn't 
     always roar. 
Sometimes courage 
     is the little voice 
          at the end of the day 
               that says 
I'll try again tomorrow.”

Mary Anne Radmacher

P.S.  Please remember to click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay may have a free mammogram.  Thank you. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.