RIVER TYNE

I had a wander by the River Tyne this afternoon.  Went into The Sage ( music venue ) and The Baltic ( Centre for Contemporary Art ) which are on the Gateshead side and then crossed The Millennium Bridge to the Newcastle side of the river. I was surprised to see that The Quayside Seaside is still there - an area of sand with deck chairs and beach huts and some palm trees by the river.  See my extra shot for the beach huts.

I had something in mind to blip for Tiny Tuesday with a pink theme but I just had to blip this shot of the Tyne Bridge. I took the photo around 4pm and the light was lovely.

After I took my photo I wandered along the Quayside to get the bus into the centre of town.  I noticed a couple of fire engines.  And lots of police/firemen.  I wondered if there was someone in the river but I couldn't see any activity on the water.  However as I went underneath The Tyne Bridge and came out the other side I noticed some activity on the bridge above. There was a young lad standing on the outside ledge and someone ( a police negotiator ? ) next to him talking to him.  Also another person behind him holding him. It looked a very precarious situation.  If the lad had decided to jump he would have landed on the road with no chance of survival.  It was a sight I wish I hadn't seen.  I got my bus into town and later on I Googled to see if there was any news.  Found out that the lad had been brought down safely.  Thank goodness for that.  Hopefully he will find some help to solve whatever problems he has.  The Tyne Bridge seems to be a focal point for " jumpers".  Last weekend someone was talked down from the bridge and a few days before that someone ended up in the water - but survived. 

I did some shopping in Fenwicks Food Hall - posh chocolate to give as a Christmas gift ( Oh dear .... I mentioned the C word ... sorry ).  I got some trout and tomatoes in Waitrose and then walked through Eldon Square shopping centre.  Time was getting on so I just hurried through to get my bus home.

Steps today - 9,206

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.