Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Red Squirrel

I was sitting by the window, working on the computed when I saw movement out of the corner of my eye. Glancing up, I saw a red squirrel on the bird table. I t vanished.

We set up a row of 5 hazelnuts everyday on the bird table. The squirrel will take them away one at a time. There were 3 left!

I went to get the camera, change the lens and turn out the room lights. It was back. Click! Beep.....beep......beep....... drat! I still had the camera set on timer mode. 2 hazelnuts left!

All the time I watched it never did come back for those last 2 nuts, instead it took them from the squirrel feeder across the garden. They know when nuts aren't any good. We've opened up rejected ones to find nothing in them.

I spent the day doing officey sort of work, sorting papers into piles and doing some printing for use on the boat to put in the post. Thursday had been swapped for Tuesday so The Man went to see The Bro-in-Law and I went to see The Mate to sort out some dates for a camera club event at the studio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.