Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

New York!

After a very early start this morning we had an uneventful flight to New York. Being a day time flight I watched 3 movies - an excellent one called Maudie where Sally Hawkins has been tipped for an Oscar nomination, The Big Sick and My Cousin Rachel. JFK Airport was slow and inefficient and Gavin had to push back his meetings as it took so long to get through passport control - we are so spoilt with Terminal 5 that we expect the same when we are elsewhere. 

After getting to the hotel Gavin rushed off to his meetings and Thomas and I wandered the streets of Manhattan,  doing a bit of shopping at American Eagle which he likes and then spending the rest of the day walking around Central Park. It was so warm and sunny - there were people sunbathing in shorts and many people were lazing on the lawns enjoying the good weather. We walked so much that I was quite glad to get back to the room for a rest. I worked out that I have now been awake for 19 hours and we have not gone to have supper yet! It will be a long day and I am sure after supper I will be more than ready for bed.

It was interesting seeing all the security around Trump Tower - one can no longer walk around it, it is cordoned off with a strong police presence. There were also many anti-Trump protestors standing in front of the building. In the taxi from the airport the driver told us how the New Yorkers hate Trump as all this extra security costs them, the taxpayers, more money.

I liked the backlighting in this image, and I know its a bit cheesy to do colour selections but the light on those flags was so lovely I did not want them to be in mono. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.