A soft touchdown

Overcast and cold day discouraged an early visit to the waterside. Instead, I went down a couple of hours post high tide. There was a largish group of herons waiting on the newly uncovered rocks for the water to ebb out far enough to uncover the feeding grounds. My presence caused them to fly away (see the extra for three such absconders), so I turned and went back to the point, and around to Our Beach. Most of the herons I'd seen before were on the major rock outcrop, and they all left again. 

My photo is of the one that chose to land closer to me than the others did. 

The tui were out and about in numbers as well. Constant calling. On my way up the cliff path the sound was omnipresent, and five or six were in and out of the branches above and around me. Not quite sure why my attempt to get a photo resulted in the second extra. S thinks it is rather cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.