Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Concentration

From the living room, I saw this cactus wren hopping around on the patio right next to the glass door.  he was concentrating so hard on that peanut that I was able to pick up a camera and very slowly creep up on him. He looked into the shell with one eye, then two eyes and a beak.  Realizing there was a peanut still inside, he went for it full bore.  I actually got a shot of the entire shell caught up on his schnoz but it was too blurry to use.

These are the largest wrens in North America.  They aren't very colorful which makes them especially suited to hang around and survive here.  It (Coues' cactus wren) is the state bird of Arizona.

Mom has been really struggling this week. It's breaking my heart to see her mind playing so many tricks on her.  I don't believe she should live by herself anymore but I'm out of good options.   Starting tonight, a caregiver will be there a fourth day of the week, each time for only three hours.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.