Community Challenge: Colours of the Seasons

I did it - I finally got Lily to the vets.

At around 2pm Lily was on the bedroom windowsill and I was playing with her.  Then I thought this might be a good time to try and get her in the cat carrier.  I quickly got a large towel, wrapped her in it and headed for the bathroom where the carrier was.  Closed the door and breathed a sign of relief.  The worst was over. I can always get her into the carrier easily once she is in the bathroom with the door closed and thats what happened.

Then I phoned vets to check whether it was OK to bring her in.  They said OK.  So we were off.  She cried and howled all the way there and while we waited inside the vets.  She cried in the vets room while I explained to the vet why I had come.  But once she was on the vets table she was fine and behaved herself very well. 

The vets advice was long winded but her opinion is that its probably Feline idiopathic cystitis - a stress related condition. The vets suggestions included buying a book which she recommended and implementing the ideas in the book - and when I start doing that to also use plug in diffusers which help stressful cats and then start on the medicine she gave me today.  I have to try everything at the same time - ie throw everything at it instead of trying one thing, then another etc. She said its going to take months and months to sort out as there's no quick fix. 

So not good news really.  Just have to try whatever I can to sort her out.  So far this evening she has been OK - probably because she is exhausted after her outing.  

When I got back from the vets I fancied a walk on my own so I headed for the Co-op.  Mainly bought fruit.  The weather was bright earlier on and quite pleasant but later it started getting rather chilly.

I decided to take part in the Colours of the Seasons Community Challenge.  If you don't know about it you can find out HERE.  I took my blip shot in the park - its on my route to the vets.  The path leads to the derelict windmill. It is thought to have been constructed in around 1720 and was in use until 1835. It has been grade II listed since 1985 and is the only remaining windmill in Gateshead. It has recently had some work done on it to make it safe.  In fact the whole park has undergone a make-over using money from the Lottery Fund.

Steps today - 11,247

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.