The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

At Benaroya Hall in Seattle

I joined a concert series put on by the Friends of the WWU Music Library. This was the first concert of the season. We boarded a bus at 8:30 and headed down the freeway to Seattle. We arrived in time to have an early lunch before the 12 o'clock concert. I went to The Brooklyn with friends. Their food is scrumptious and they are aware of people's need to be at the concert on time.

The concert was fantastic. It was all baroque music and featured Dmitry Sinkovsky, conductor, counter tenor and violin. Yes. You heard that right. He conducted a piece by the 18 century English composer Charles Avison. Then he conducted while he sang a group of counter tenor arias by Vivaldi. After the intermission he played the solo violin while conducting all of the Four Seasons by Vivaldi. Wow! This is a man who lives and breathes music. It was something special to see and hear him in action, especially since I happen to love baroque music including music sung by counter tenors. It was a very special event.

I took a few photos in the lobby of Benaroya Hall before we went in to find our seats. Later I fiddled with them and posted some of the versions on Chaikins of Bellingham. I almost posted the one I call "Zombies" instead of the original but decided to go with the original photo instead.

Wow wow wow!!! Thanks so much for all of the hearts, stars and kind comments on my photo from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.