Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Birmingham Tram

Location: Corporation Street, Birmingham

I had to drop one of the cars back in to the garage for a computer update.  Apparently after the iPod stopped working recently it wouldn't be able to be fixed without a firmware update (and only the garage could do it!).

I decided to use up the morning with a pop into Birmingham to try out some cityscapes with the Pep Ventosa technique.  Try to find scenes that worked has proved quite challenging, particularly as you only realise they don't work once you are back home and started blending!  One thing that did help was setting the camera on the widest lens focal length and just using a continuous shutter as I walked around or across a subject.  Previously, I'd been much more careful with my composition for each shot.

I didn't get home until the evening, spending the last hour and a half on processing and that has resulted in just 6 completed images.  It's a slow process!  I have found one useful tool, a script for Photoshop that automatically changes the layer opacity for as many layers as you like.  It's from Digital Outback Photography and is called DOP_Layerstackopacityblending.  It emulates a multiple exposure in camera.

In the end I've posted three extras, including a carousel which is on e of Pep's favourite subjects.  I've learnt a lot today and I'm sure next time I try street scenes I'll be more successful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.