Old sewing machines

The plan today was for a bit of retail therapy in Bluewater plus a nice lunch. However, an accident on the Dartford Bridge forced it's closure and caused chaos on the surrounding roads and motorways. Everything was gridlocked for hours. That was the end of the shopping trip.

Instead I spent much of the day clearing out and reorganising my Studio cum workshop cum sewing room. Ian has removed all his diy things including the big wooden workbenches and they are now in situ in his new "posh" shed. See extra.

I am a hoarder and accumulate stuff. I have enough fabric, threads, frames, craft bits etc etc to stock a haberdashers. I managed to fill a box for the charity shop.

I beeswaxed the big pine sideboard - see extra - and cleaned the dust off the old sewing machine in main blip. I do not use this any more but it was in fact mine many years ago. My mother bought it for me when I was about 16. It belonged to an elderly lady and was already "vintage". It was hand operated with a shuttle bobbin, and I made my clothes including a suit (jacket and skirt).
Because I throw nothing away, I am able to have this machine on display. It is so old it can now be described as antique.

The little red sewing machine called a Vulcan is a toy which I gave my son when he was very small. This is now collectable and I'm surprised he hasn't requested it's return.

All in all a profitable day. Who needs shopping?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.