Abstract Thursday - Natural Marquetry

The theme for Abstract Thursday today is "Natural Surprise" and I must admit I was astonished at the result of messing with this piece of birch bark. Totally natural and very surprisingly close to marquetry - the art of using coloured wooden veneers to create artworks. I'd love a table top based on this.

Managed to get the bike out for a bimble this afternoon. I came back warmer than I left, which was also a little surprising unless you factor in all the electric heating and insulating layers... it is getting a bit chill out there now though.

The construction company have promised to stop work early and clean the main road, prior to Sunday's Remembrance procession. I'm still a little anxious though... the local gas board have just come and started digging up the damn thing! Sometimes you just can't win!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.