Veteran's Day, a time to remember

Dear Diary,

I just finished watching the Ken Burns highly acclaimed documentary, The Vietnam War.  It was a ten-part series of over 18 hours so it took a bit of time to get through but it was a stunning achievement.  It was a very difficult time in American history and I remember feeling very conflicted.  I opposed the war but my brother was fighting in it so I kept my thoughts to myself.

This is a photograph of my big brother at his going away party.  He was off to Officer's Candidate School around 1968.  He would become a first lieutenant and spend a year in Vietnam.  He looks so young here, it brings tears to my eyes.  He was one of the lucky ones to make it home relatively unscathed although I doubt any one who fights in a war is completely untouched by the experience.

His two sons would join the military as well and one is still in the Army, a colonel now in military intelligence.  I worry about him all the time with what is happening in the world.  My dad was in WWII, landing in Normandy and fighting right through until the end.  I am proud of all my family's contribution to our country and today we thank them and all who served or are serving for their service and sacrifice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.