Tiramisu in a Shot Glass

We invited 3 friends over for Sunday lunch today. I have been preparing for days as our guests love good food and are prepared to try new things. Many Austrians only eat Austrian food. It is always a bit of a challenge cooking here as many ingredients i use are hard to find. We started with prawns baked in olive oil, garlic and chili. I had to buy par baked baguettes to finish off in the oven as i couldn’t find any ciabatta bread flour. Main course was pork fillet roasted with maple syrup, onions and pears served with a salad of greens and pears with a pear vinaigrette. Dessert was tiramisu in a shot glass made with chocolate brownies, marscopone and coffee extract and bitter chocolate wafers. I ordered some coffee extract on the internet but won’t arrive until next week. I did find some locally but it came in litre bottles which are pretty expensive. I decided to make my own but it takes a few days so i made coffee essece instead. I couldn’t find any chocolate coated coffee beans so I also made some myself. They didn’t look as good as bought ones but were delicious. I made the vanilla ice cream the day before as it was the first time i had used my new ice cream maker and i didn’t want to risk it on the day. Unfortunately it was not as creamy today so will make it next time on the day and get some tips from my friend who used to run the local ice creamery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.