Paddy's Hole, Teeside

We've had a wonderful few hours on South Gare, the spit of land that separates Redcar Bay from the mouth of the River Tees.  This one was taken as we were leaving.  The light was looking good and I was hoping that I might get something a bit more special.  I've got quite a soft spot for this mixed landscape, with the boats moored up in Paddy's hole and the industrial landscape of Teeside behind.

And among other things of interest I managed to photography a pair of Snow Buntings (though they were a long way away).  Earlier I'd got talking to a couple of men who'd just arrived and were on the look out for rarer birds on this stretch of coast.  As I stopped to photograph the wind turbines they pulled up in their car and said they'd just seen 14 snow buntings down by the rocks at the end.  Well with the help of another man I got pointed in the right direction and although I didn't see fourteen I did manage to photograph a pair who were working a stretch of grass on the dune edge.

I had quite a good start to the day as their was mist in the Esk valley (it was there last night too, when Pam drove us back from the theatre in Scarborough - not pleasant).  So I think I've also got one or two landscape images that work.  All in all a slightly over productive day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.