Out of Hours

Not the blip I was expecting to upload! Last night, I had a terrible night of wheezing and coughing, so much so that when I hadn’t had a wink of sleep at four AM, I got up and had a hot shower in the hope that the steam might help. It didn’t really.

I managed to fall asleep at around six, and got a few hours in before I got up at midday. It was a long shift, and any time I tried to speak, I started coughing. However, I got there and came home at ten. My breathing was so bad at this point, probably with the cold air outside, that I phoned NHS24 for some advice. I was advised to take two puffs of my inhaler, wait thirty seconds and take two more, repeat this pattern five times and it would be as good as a nebuliser.

It really did work, however, I was advised that someone would phone me in the next four hours. Five minutes later, I got a call advising me to attend the Out of Hours clinic at the Borders General. Luckily, this is just round the corner, so I was there before eleven. I was seen by a lovely doctor within thirty minutes and he decided to take some bloods and run some tests. When he left the room to take the bloods to the lab, I grabbed my phone for a quick blip.

Long story short, I have an infection, not sure if it’s bacterial or viral, but I’m home with antibiotics and steroids. I was at the hospital for four hours, this was mainly waiting on results from the blood tests. Fingers crossed the various pills do their work and I get a better night tonight.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.