Akaroa Our Last Day

We awoke to a fine sunny day from our comfortable and spacious hotel room.
We jumped in the car and took off to Akaroa early...we were off to see the Hector Dolphins.
When we got to the harbour to catch our boat I realised that I had been here before and had done the same cruise as whet we were going on today...last time however there were no dolphins to be seen anywhere....but I did see a lot of seals and some might fine shorelines rocks and caves.

Not long into the trip the dolphins appeared....my goodness they are sooooo gorgeous and small with their Mickey Mouse ear fins....It was hard to get any decent shots of those little guys they didn’t jump out of the water much...and boy were they quick........the Albatross were also in abundance (and quick) especially because there was a wee fishing boat close to us and the fisherman was throwing stuff back in the water.......there was a reason for this but by this time I was suffering badly from seasickness and didn’t hear what the guy on the boy was saying.

Blahhhh! I didn’t lose my breakfast but boy I just wanted to get back on land and stop my tummy from heaving..........I managed to click my shutter at the blow hole and a few other times but to be honest ..at that stage....I couldn’t give a rats arse as to weather the pics turned out or not.

It wasn’t long before we were back on land that my appetite retuned and we had some awesome fish n chips for lunch followed by and ice cream. We did a bit of shopping and generally had a poke around the town. Akaroa is a lovely little place the water is just so blue surrounded by emerald green hills......I couldn’t help but feel it was a very bright jewel in the South Island New Zealand crown......some of the gardens and little cottages looked as if they were images from old postcards.....ones like my Nan used to have. The flowers were gorgeous and I had to go an sniff every different rose bush much to the wonderment of P.

We got to bed quite late after packing for the trip home.......so sad that the holiday is just about over.....we went to a swanky restaurant for dinner.........Asian Fusion blah blah.........I have to say I am really not keen on fancy pansy food/ restaurants....or the price for that matter.

Anyhow we had an awesome last day ....we had an awesome time....we saw awesome stuff......we met awesome folk........we ate awesome food....to sum it all up it was just such an AWESOME adventure.
Thank you New Zealand for your gracious hospitality and unfolding your beauty to us for our short adventure...discovering just a few of your treasures......you so openly share.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.