Charity and Coffee

I spent most of the day indoors today but finally got out for some fresh air late afternoon. I walked down to the village to buy a couple of items from Waitrose. It was dark and grey but not as cold as I thought it was and I got overheated in my winter coat. So I got my ‘free’ cup of coffee from Waitrose and sat outside to cool off. Not the greatest of pictures but I realised I hadn’t taken any others all day.

Across the road from where I was sitting, are the Twyford Almshouses...built in 1640 for 6 poor people by Sir Richard Harrison, Lord of the Manor of nearby Hurst. They were endowed by his Granddaughter, Lady Frances Winchcombe in 1707, giving the rents from a house and 80 acres of land. Each person received 40 shillings a year and a gown every other year.

I returned home and made some banana bread. Later on this evening I drove up to Heathrow to meet some Flight Attendant friends of mine who landed at 9pm. We had a very enjoyable late dinner together at a Heathrow hotel, and I sent the banana bread off with them to enjoy for breakfast on their early flight home the next day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.