Neil and his latest eBay purchase!

Yesterday Neil missed out on being in my blip, so today it’s all about Neil!!

Yesterday’s was a very late night and brief blip to sum up a lovely day with so many of the friends I made during my 25 years at CCC pensions. I think we had a rare friendship group, for some of my closest friends, of all ages, were made in that Octagon building over the years, and we reminisced lots yesterday, over quite a few beers. It was quite interesting discovering what some of us could remember, and also remembering some of the odd characters we’d had the pleasure of working with briefly over time. It was a lovely day. We are definitely making it an annual thing. People have thanked me for ‘organising’ it, but all I did was set a date and said be there if you can. I’ve discovered in the past that it doesn’t work if you contact everyone first then try to find a date that everyone is free. Every time we get together I get so much enjoyment from those 12 hours we spend together, and I am so pleased to call them all my friends. Don’t let time drift by without making the effort now and again to catch up with old friends, because if you do, it might just be too late.

Karen and Neil kindly gave me a bed for the night, which I shared with Smartie (their cat). Even though it was 2 before I went to sleep, I woke at 8. I had a lazy morning chatting with Karen and Neil. Neil and I ALWAYS end up talking about our various collections, and today Karen even showed me her collection of old shopping lists!!! (Karen doesn’t do collecting in the way we do, so I was quite excited to see her slipping into our ways!) Well anyway, here is Neil proudly posing with this beautiful poster - it is a GPO advertising poster - featuring the Round Church area of Cambridge (plus post box, postie and his van). I love it. I don’t know how much he paid, but it was worth it, I’m sure (he’s a shrewd dealer) and it is going to look great on the wall in whichever room it finds itself.

I left the Harvey’s to their Sunday at 11 and got home at just after 1. Since getting in I’ve done nothing. Added a few contacts to my phone, and had a doze. We watched Strictly on iplayer but it wasn’t great quality (the picture, not the dancing!). My head has ached today, but I think two late nights and gin are to blame.

A new week begins tomorrow and now this special friends weekend is over, I can start to think about Christmas. If you belong to me (that is you Daniel, Mollie and Henry) I am being asked for Christmas ideas, so please text me your wishes.

Still haven’t written the Christmas cards, so I think I might make that this weeks goal, together with a push to get my book uploaded for printing.

That’s it then. Back to my knitting, and a new book to start...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.