Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yuck - blueberries!

I decided to put some mushy blueberries out for the birds rather than toss them into the trash.  Almost instantly, the Patio Chipmunk was on the blueberry.  He proceeded to daintily eat about half of it before hurling it down and going through a very exhaustive cleansing process.  I know I just blipped a chipmunk a few days ago, and I also know this isn't a good technical shot - but, damn, they are beyond cute when they are doing a big face cleaning operation. It had to be done.

The backyard was like a chipmunk speedway today with what looked to be a half dozen running to and fro gathering nuts and chasing each other.  One got so amped up that he charged into a group of 10 mourning doves who were picking seeds off the ground - never mind that each dove is at least 4 times the chipmunks size.  Mourning doves went flying in ever direction while the chippie streaked across the yard.  

I picke up our fresh turkey from the butcher today and am now dry-brining it (something I learned from my nephew's wife last year).  Also made the cranberry sauce (new recipe using orange juice, ginger, and cinnamon - yummy) and chopped some celery and onions that will go into the stuffing/dressing.  Then a nice visit with MIL before heading back home.  

Thanks for continuing to shower love on my "forever monarch!"

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.