Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Unexpected

I don't know what was more surprising this dreich day. I was on the way to the Co-op - my only outing other than to sing after dark - in a fine drizzle when I noticed the trees - I've added my first photo as an extra - which were still in gloriously autumnal leaf in the strange little area of countryside that borders the Milton Burn as it bisects the north of Dunoon. I tend to take this path rather than the main road when I'm walking in that direction, as the pavement is narrow and the traffic an annoyance.

And then my second unexpected moment approached in the shape of a wee man - somehow typically Dunoon in jeans, a padded jacket and a navy wooly hat - a wee, thin man in his 60s or 70s. "You taking a photo?" he asked. "Yes - these trees have still got all their leaves: look!" And he looked, and then looked back at me. "You're right", he said. "And they're beautiful." I told him that they would make my photo journal entry for today. And he beamed at me. "Good for you!" he said. "Spread a little peace!". He gave me a thumbs up, and walked off, smiling.

And I felt good. And that was unexpected too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.