Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Urban Sunset

I had to take an unplanned trip into Tucson this afternoon.  If I'm on the East side, I try to make time for a bite to eat at Panera Bread (I fancy their Thai Chicken salad). I hadn't realized how late it had gotten so when I walked outside I saw this amazing sunset.  The view in the extra was taken one minute earlier. It's amazing how quickly colors and shapes change.  I'm rarely in the city when it's getting dark.  I forgot that this time of year it's so much earlier than what I'm used to at rush hour.  Just noticed I caught the waxing crescent moon way up in the corner!

In case I post late tomorrow, as has been my recent practice, I'll say Happy Thanksgiving to all of my friends in the States.


Everyone has at least one memory of Thanksgiving.  One of mine was watching my father eat a mountain of roasted chestnuts as his desert while the rest of us had pumpkin pie.  Naturally, it was the rest of us who suffered the consequences of his chestnut gluttony later that evening.

The first time he wanted roasted chestnuts my parents didn't exactly know how to make them.  I was really little and they were still young.  The proper way is to cut slits, like an X, into each one then soak them for a little while before sticking them into the oven.  Unaware of this procedure, the chestnuts were not slit prior to the attempted roasting.  Dad opened the oven door and the hot nuts exploded all over his bare chest.  I don't remember what happened next but it wasn't pretty.

Enjoy your time with family/friends and loved ones...the former not necessarily the same as the latter.  And if DJT or any other sexual predator comes up in the conversation, interrupt and tell the stories of the roasted chestnuts.

~Laurie xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.