Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Happy Thanksgiving

At least in the USA..where we did not even have turkey...yet!   My #2 son and his wife  always go to her parents for Thanksgiving and we normally travel to North Carolina to see #1 Son and family on Thanksgiving Day.    But this year, we are going on tomorrow, Friday, and staying the night as #2 son and wife are going with us!    It has been a while since we were all together for a Thanksgiving meal.   So a 4 hour drive tomorrow..and #2 son really hates to travel for any distance!    Can't wait to get all of my small immediate family together.  

So today, the hubby and I packed our ham sandwich and potato salad, our pie and something to drink and headed up to the woods were he hunts here at home.  He told me yesterday the trees were still very full of color so I really wanted to see what it was like...and there is a pond and a creek in these woods.      It was a wonderful 2 hour hike with the dog!  The weather was so pleasant..a little cool when we started out but by the time we finished the sun had come out and it was almost too warm long sleeves.

I found a great tree stump to set the camera on to get a photo of us with the color behind us!   Yellow and red leaves everywhere!!  So here we are on Thanksgiving Day in the woods!   It may be something we do again!  

 I am thankful that we are healthy enough  to hike over rough uneven ground for a couple of miles.   Thankful for  the gorgeous trees and the chance to "forest bathe" along the creek (no, we did not get in the creek but the dog did a couple of times!).   Thankful for my boys and their families who we will love on tomorrow.

But I am sad because my Canon SL1 camera has this dark line in the photos where there is light colored backgrounds!  I first thought a dog hair was stuck between the UV filter and the front of the lens.    I dusted the lens and the inside of the camera with that little squeeze blower thing as there were so many dust spots from the dust in Colorado.  Apparently I did something to cause that line.  It shows up mostly on the wide angle shots.  So I have to find somewhere or somebody to see what can be done..probably send it off to Canon as we have no camera shop in the area and I don't know anyone that works on cameras.   But I do have my newer camera to use  while this one is getting repaired and the phone.   I can still use it as long as I don't want clear blue sky or I can edit out that line.       Keep your fingers crossed it is nothing major costly..the camera is only 3 years old!  

Hope everyone in the US had a great Thanksgiving Day!!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.