Word Of The Day - Bird Of The Day

Haw is Robert Macfarlane's word of the day on Twitter. I took it to be a sign. As some of you will know I've been hunting hawfinches recently. This morning I had a lovely walk in Broxbourne's Bencroft Wood. The field where the birds have been seen was bathed in sunshine. I got a nice shot of a buzzard in flight but no hawfinches.

Undeterred I went home for a spot of lunch, swapped from the blue S2000 to the yellow and headed for Bramfield churchyard. I had it to myself and the light was lovely. Most of the yew berries have been gobbled up since I was last there so I wasn't too hopeful. I saw nuthatches, blackbirds, jackdaws, redwings  and rattling mistle thrushes. Then I spotted what I initially thought was a greenfinch, right at the top of a tall tree in the golden hour. I got a few shots and it dawned on me that I'd captured a hawfinch. What a thrill it is hunting with my science rifle, especially when I shoot a shy, enigmatic beauty like this! :)

Today's poem is Aubade by Philip Larkin. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/48422/aubade-56d229a6e2f07

"....this is what we fear—no sight, no sound,   
No touch or taste or smell, nothing to think with,   
Nothing to love or link with,
The anaesthetic from which none come round."
All the more reason to touch, taste, smell, think, love and link while we are able. The reason why I bought the yellow S2000. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.