Mono Monday - ROMANCE

The Mono Monday theme today is " Romance " or " Romantic". There is no romance in my life at the moment but I have known romance in the past so have put together a blip shot to reflect this. I got engaged to Douglas in 1979 - we were on a trip to London.  He bought my engagement ring in H Samuel. I knew that when we got married Douglas wouldn't wear a wedding ring as - in his own words " his big fat rugby player fingers just wouldn't look right with a ring on ".  So I decided to buy him an identity bracelet as an engagement gift. I bought it in Selfridges in Oxford Street. The front says " Douglas " ( obviously! ) and the back reads " With Love From Dolly ". You can see it in my blip shot.  We got married on 9th March 1982.  I have included the red silk rose I wore that day in the photo. Douglas wore a white silk carnation  - I haven't got it though as he lost it on the day!  Sadly Douglas passed away in September 2001. On the right of the photo is the card I wrote to him on 9th March 2007 - on what would have been our 25th wedding anniversary.  I keep it with his ashes.  I have many happy memories of our time together which will be with me always.  I did a bit of processing  in Picasa - mainly the Invert Colours  effect as it looks a bit more romantic. I have included photos of  both of us on our wedding day in my extras.  Thanks to Marlieske for hosting the challenge.

Its been the usual Monday for me....Fitness Class, shopping, shower and Slimming World.  Lost half a pound at weigh in - but it wasn't enough to get me back into my target range so I had to pay.  Oh well - just have to stick with it and see what happens next Monday.  I didn't stay to the meeting as I just wanted to get home into the warm and have my tea.  Its been bitterly cold today. Even though I was well wrapped up I still felt freezing.

Steps today - 14,302

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.