WE FOUND IT.

You may remember the fruitless search Pat ( Shygirl73 ) and I had a fortnight ago when we were looking for the monument in honour of Pat's great great grandfather. We were in the wrong cemetery that day. Today we had another foray to Sunderland armed with info re the correct cemetery. The travel went well.  I met Pat at Gateshead Metro station  and we caught the metro to Sunderland.  We nipped into Wilkinsons so Pat could have a cup of coffee and then we got the bus to Sunderland cemetery ( previously called Grangetown ).

The bus stopped right outside the cemetery and as soon as we walked through the gates we spotted the monument quite near the entrance ( we knew what it looked like as there is a photo on an online site ). So we took our photos and we were on a bus back to Sunderland within 10 mins.  Job done.  Pat was thrilled to find the monument at last. Of course my blip shot had to be Pat and the monument.

It was raining heavily so we didn't linger in Sunderland and caught the Metro back to Newcastle.  Pat went to catch her bus home while I did some shopping in town.

I have had in my purse for ages a voucher from John Lewis for a free coffee and cake and I had a feeling it was due to expire soon.  When I checked it the last date for redemption was today.  So ................................ I has a coffee and a massive slice of Christmas cake. I know ---- I'm trying to lose weight.  And that bit of cake would have so many syns.  But  it was free.  And it was delicious.  And tomorrow is another day. 

3 parcels were delivered while I was out - one was put in the garage and two were left with neighbours.  All my " Black Friday " shopping is arriving - and I seem to be always out when it comes.  There's more due tomorrow and hopefully I will be at home to take delivery - even though I need to go out 3 times tomorrow so its hardly likely.

At the moment I'm listening to the match on the radio.  Newcastle are playing away against West Bromwich Albion.  The score at the moment is 2 - 1.  Newcastle have been poor but they have just got the goal so hopefully they will be spurred on to get more. Fingers ( and toes ) crossed.
Steps today - 12,025

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.