An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

It's the final countdown...

At last, eighteen months and one day on from this momentous day, I think I can safely say we can see light at the end of the tunnel.

Eighteen months of building work on the extension, gardening work, roofing work, central heating replacement, upgrading the electrics, knocking down walls and replacing the kitchen and utility room and redecorating every room except the living room and our bedroom, we are now on the home straight!

Decorators Willie and John arrived this morning to begin painting and wall papering the biggest and most challenging space in the house, the main hall.  With its double height ceiling and steep stairs I don't envy them one bit.  I went into the hall at one point when Willie was right at the top of the high ladder with John at the bottom holding it.  My stomach did a flip and I made a hasty retreat.  Much to my relief they were till alive at the end of the day.

Alan has had a great day.  More of his Christmas decs are up in his sitting room (28 sleeps ;-) and he got in the pool.

I have had a successful day on the Christmas shopping front.  Just left with the ones I always struggle with.  Men are so difficult to buy for without going down the usual route of clothes, aftershave and the like.  That said, I am doing well with David's gifts.  His birthday is in December too (as is my best friend's, Ele's and my niece!) so it's a double whammy trying to come up with gift ideas.  

Lola has been a wee star today.  Consistently asking to go outside to do her business and being generally lovely.  Her and Alan had some lovely bonding time earlier this evening.  We seem to have done a very good job in making sure she's not afraid of his wheelchair, to the extent she spends her time licking it and trying to eat the wheels.  She is also really keen to be near him and tonight she was nuzzling him and he was loving it.  She then licked his right ear and his face was a picture!  Hilarious! :-))

Busy day tomorrow as Susan (daughter of Uncle Hugh who died recently) and her husband Paul are coming for lunch before they fly back home to Canada on Friday.  We haven't seen Susan and Paul since December 1997 and as I type that I have just realised that's 20 years ago!  Wow!  I really can't believe it!  Alan was only 16 months old!  I think they will see a difference in him.  And us!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.