An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Can I Dig it?

Yes you can!  :-)

At last, the day we have waited so long for, has finally dawned. 
 
The demolition team were due on site at 7.30am so I set my alarm for 6am.   As it turns out, I woke at 5.38am thanks to my bladder alarm (no I don’t have a special electronic warning system that wakes me as I’m about to wet the bed, I just mean I woke up needing to go  :-)
 
As I brushed my teeth, I became aware I was humming the chorus of Alison Moyet’s song Should I Feel that it’s over and I couldn’t think why till I remembered the first line is “would you wake me up when it’s over” and it all made sense.
 
Thanks to a comment from Tanya about saving the carpet in the games room too, I took a punt and contacted a friend who I thought might want it.  It is tartan (not everyone’s taste) and although it was down when we bought the house, the game room was hardly used so it’s virtually brand new.    Well much to my delight, my friend responded to say she would take the carpet.
 
The logistics team arrived at 8.30 on the dot and set about dismantling the snooker table. The demolition guys arrived just minutes after them and set about cutting down trees and the fence and knocking down part of the boundry wall to allow them to get heavy plant equipment in.   Just as I commented to David that the wall was quite sturdy so might pose a challenge, the scoop of the digger hit it and it collapsed like a pack of cards.  So much for my theory.
 
By mid morning the snooker table was gone, the Demolition guys 
were busy ripping up decking, garden, tree roots (thankfully no dead bodies) with the scoop of the digger coming down inches away from the games room, where David was inside hovering the carpet before rolling it up and putting it in the garage till our friends collect it.  It was all very surreal.
 
The afternoon has passed by in a blur of banging and crashing till it all went quiet at 4.30 and the Demolition guys left. 
 
The digger is now sitting abandoned in the garden looking very temping.  I would love to Blip David sitting in it but I think the urge to have a go might prove too much and end in disaster!   
 
   So we’ve survived day 1.  Only another 237 to go :D   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.