Twittering Goldfinch

Come on today's aural beating of the bounds with me. :)

I step outside and hear a "dull ditty" which I find appealing. It's a dunnock singing its short, fast, warbling song. Lovely to hear on a sunny winter's day.

I stride south and hear the croaking "kaark" of Jack Heron as he glides down to our neighbour's lake.

I'm following the tracks of badgers, deer and foxes. The whirr of wings and the "korr kok" of a pheasant rings out from behind the hedge.

"Phew, phew" pipe the bullfinches plaintively. I see them but only achieve a rosy blur in camera.

"Weet" calls my chiffchaff, it's decided to stay for the winter but does not reveal itself.

Robins are ever present. "Twiddle-oo, twiddle-eedee, twiddle-oo-twiddle".

"Tsee-tsee-tsee" and "Tsirrup" betrays the presence of a troupe of long-tailed-tits flitting acrobatically in the hawthorns.

I catch the laughing "yaffle" of a green woodpecker as it bounces between venerable oaks in the horse sanctuary.

The light, liquid twittering, interspersed with snorts, pinpoints a charm of goldfinches homing in on the last of the burdock seeds.

I poke my head into the northerly block of glasshouses on the way back to the house and am chided, "Teck, teck, teck" by a wren's alarm call.

Thanks to Twitter I know that if I hear, "Kloop" it's a parrot crossbill. I've never heard of one before. They've been seen in Suffolk recently. :)

Today's poem is My Papa's Waltz by Theodore Roethke. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/43330/my-papas-waltz

TR's father ran a greenhouse business and died when TR was fifteen. This affected the boy greatly. He loved his father fiercely but it seems that the man was violent and abusive towards him. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.