Switched On

The first thing that I do when I get to work is to switch my PC on.

The second thing I do is make a cup of coffee.

Like most people at work I am on the enterprise system. The PC cannot be personalised in any way, in some ways it is a bit of a "dummy" machine. What is shown is a corporate message - yesterday's was reminding us all of the Council's values, today's is of an exhibition at the Museum and Art Gallery.

I will have a look. Coronation Street first aired in 1960. "Weatherfield" was and I guess still is based on inner city Salford. The inspiration was Tony Warren's - he grew up in Pendlebury, and wrote all the first episodes (which reviewers were very sniffy about at the time, working class life not being seen as a fitting subject for TV in some quarters). 

Ena Sharples and Elsie Tanner and their fellows were well known figures when I was growing up, even for those who didn't watch the programme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.