Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Which ones are your favourite?

Today I was in Haltwhistle for an all day training session for festival volunteers. Six new people have come onto our books and 2 established team members came along for a refresher.

We worked hard. Lots of concerns about how to be a team member were raised.  It's hard to keep a balanced view when you are being told how to deal with walkers on roads; walkers with inappropriate clothing; cows (cows with calves, cows with a bull, bull on its own, several bulls together), stiles, slow walkers, fast walkers, people who take ill, etc., etc.

I always enjoy these days. Harry who leads them has a way of making all the above sound interesting.

At lunchtime  I called into the Post Office to post a parcel. One whole wall is shelved and there are rows of sweetie jars with old fashioned varieties for sale. I wonder which ones you remember from childhood?

In this part of the world, cheap sweets are called ket. Mum remembers being given 1 penny to go for sweets. She chose to buy 3 Quality Street rather than a big bag of rubbish.

On my way home, I called to see Maureen and Brian to catch up and have a cuppa.  Tonight is my first night in this week and we are going to do some catch up TV. 

It's snowing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.