An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

How many sets of ladders...

Does it take to hang wallpaper in my hall?  My extra photo will give you the answer.

That's the sight that greeted me this morning when I popped through to offer Willie and John a cup of coffee.  They were originally going to erect scaffolding but that meant taking down the heavy brass ceiling light (it is bolted in place!) so they decided the Laurel and Hardy system of ladders and planks was the way to go!  I didn't stay around to watch but when I was in the hall later on, I was relieved to see the ladders down and the high section of wall papered.  I was even more relieved to find I like it.  Ha!  Even if I'd hated it I wouldn't have been brave enough to tell them!  :-)

Good meeting with Shona, out puppy trainer friend this morning.  No hands on training done, instead we had a discussion about how well Lola has done and what we want to focus on now.  We are all in agreement that the current priorities are teaching her better self control in mega exciting situations, particularly in the company of other dogs.  Being an only dog she gets so hyper when she has another canine friend to play with, but isn't taking the hint when the other dog is telling her they've had enough.  We need to get her in the company of other dogs more.  This was a very fortuitous decision as only this morning when David took her out for her morning walk in the woods, he met Isobel our next door neighbour with her dog and a group of her friends with their dogs and they told him they meet every morning at 9.15 and he is welcome to join them for all or part of their walk.  Apparently they call themselves The Coven (that made me laugh) so from tomorrow morning, David will become an Honorary Member.  Lol! 

Other than that the day has whizzed past in a flurry of trying to get organised for Agnes, Adrian, Ele and Kenny coming up on Saturday night.  Menu planning has been a right pain in the bahookie.  I just couldn't decide what to make.  Agnes is a vegetarian and Kenny doesn't eat vegetables or salad, Ele isn't keen on creamy desserts and Agnes doesn't like raspberries or chocolate in her desserts (just a couple of examples of the issues) so trying to please everyone without having to make loads of different dishes isn't easy.  

It's now 10.00pm and whilst I wish I was going to sit here having a lovely blip catch up, I am off to do a pile of ironing so that I don't have to think about it over the busy weekend coming up.

Oh and the filling in one of my upper molars has fallen out so need to try and get that fixed at some point.  Not easy when we have the Vet with Lola on Monday (2 hour round trip,) Speech Therapist coming to meet with us and Alan's team on Wednesday, the dietician coming on Thursday, Tesco delivery and swimming on Friday.  Not going to look good when I phone the dentist (who is 45 minutes away) and ask for an emergency appointment next Tuesday!  

Hey ho.  

Happy St Andrew's Day everyone :D 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.