FLOWER FRIDAY - LUPINS IN DECEMBER?

I had quite a disturbed night, mainly because I didn’t take any painkillers before I went to bed - I like to try and manage without them, but obviously I need to listen to my body - or my knee - so think I might take some tonight so that I get a good night’s sleep.

I was quite late getting up and decided that a morning sitting in my pink robe was the answer, so was chatting with Mr. HCB and mulling over with him about whether there were any flowers in the garden.  He said that if I went round to the greenhouse I would find several geraniums and a couple of fuchsias still flowering, but just inside were two or three lupin plants that were also flowering, but hadn't been big enough to plant out in the summer. 

I went round there quite gingerly because the paving stones looked quite slippery and found the lupins - Mr. HCB tells me they are Blue Javelin, but I think they lean more towards mauve/purple, my favourite colours.  It was lovely to see them and it was quite warm in the greenhouse with the sun shining on it.

However, the wind is still very cold, but I think I need to go out and do some exercise today, so better go and get dressed - I’m sure it won’t feel quite so bad once we start walking!

“Just living is not enough," 
     said the butterfly, 
          "one must have sunshine, 
               freedom, and a little flower.”
Hans Christian Andersen : The Complete Fairy Tales

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.