Taking in a View of Mount Nittany

In yesterday's posting, I mentioned that I visited the Ten Thousand Villages shop inside the HUB. I purchased a few new critters there, including four small, colorful cats.

On this morning, the cats insisted I take them along on my adventures. I was heading in to work, by way of Millbrook Marsh. They had never seen a marsh, they said. They wanted to go along. So off we went.

The marsh has a duck blind and I think that was their favorite part. In the summer, there is usually a nest of swallows in the rafters, but we are way past that season now.

If you stand inside the duck blind and face the open door, you get a great look at the marsh. The cats also discovered that the windows afforded a wonderful view: golden cattails in the foreground, and Mount Nittany looking lovely in the distance.

The song to accompany this image has to be about a mountain. So here is I Have Been to the Mountain, and I'm including two performances of it: one by Patty Griffin, the other by Kelly Clarkson. The song is a tribute to Martin Luther King Jr., and it is based on his famous I Have Been to the Mountaintop speech (the final speech he ever gave), which you may read here or listen to in its entirety here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.