Lights In The Lime Walk

At Kingston Lacy.

How difficult can it be to get a Christmas tree from the car into a purpose made stand in the lounge? More difficult than imagined, for sure! My eldest son drove over with my little grandson to tackle the job. I knew we had chosen quite a big tree - and we'd been careful to check that it wasn't tall enough to hit the ceiling but what we hadn't thought to check was the diameter of the trunk. We should have.  It was too big to fit and hand sawing was very hard work. A Google search and a phone call had revealed that it was beyond standard size  - be warned, if you have yet to buy yours! Anyway, after much hard work (and much time also), he finally managed to saw enough from the sides and haul it into the lounge. And then we held our breath as we released it from its white mesh cocoon...... It was perfect - perfectly, straight, perfectly bushy, perfectly proportioned - I am delighted with it (and also my wonderful son!) We put the lights on, ate lunch and then decorated it - before they returned home to sort out their own! I do so hope theirs does not have an oversized trunk........

The end of the afternoon was spent with my second son and his family at Kingston Lacy (National Trust), where they have a light display running through the gardens - definitely best seen when totally dark. After they had gone home, I retraced my steps with my tripod and took a few long exposures. I rather like the way this one has turned out :) 

Have a great evening, everyone, and many thanks for all the great comments, stars and hearts for recent blips!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.