December's Full Lace Supermoon

My birthday weekend was drawing to a close, but there was one last gift in store: Sunday's full moon! Where did this evening find me? Why, of course, sitting on our front porch steps, watching the supermoon rise! We get a great view of the moon from the big picture windows in our living room also, so even when I wasn't outside, I got to enjoy the best show around.

One of my favorite things to do, photographically speaking, is to frame objects against the moon. The trees around our house are fun for that sort of thing, and so those are what I used for this shot. Ansel Adams once said, "A good photograph is knowing where to stand," and that goes for moon shots as well as landscapes.

Every full moon has a name. I'm calling this one a lace moon because it looks lacy to me, the way I've shot it. But that's not its official name, of course. Additional names for the December full moon include the Full Cold Moon and the Full Long Night's Moon, both of which are very descriptive and accurate!

Strangely enough, I got to do some sheep-gazing on this day, as well as moon-gazing. We visited the little wetland by Bald Eagle Creek on this afternoon, just as we did last week when we spotted several charming sheep.

When I posted last weekend's sheep-blip, I received many comments about how lovely - but also lonely - the single sheep looked, so let me reassure you of something: in the photo in the extras, you may see the original sheep from last week, as well as all of its friends and family. So this sheep was never alone; and it will never be lonely again. :-)

They were sheep of few words, though. I walked down to see them as soon as we got there, and nobody said a word. As I was walking away, there was a single Baa (which sounded to me like "Come Baaaa-aaack!"). My husband and I walked over to see the sheep again right before we left. Just one Baa that time too! "One Baa per customer," my husband said, shaking his head. Ha!

The soundtrack for the main image above is a favorite song that I have adored from the moment I heard it, that I have somehow never used on blip! In honor of my birthday moon dressed up in lace finery, here are Stevie Nicks and Don Henley, with Leather and Lace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.