Another one bites the dust.

I decided to have a "wee dram" of my home-brew. Since the intended glass was full of π napple, which I'm trying to grow, I took the next nearest in size. Thinks, "I wonder if they still exist?":-
It appears they don't.

"In 1985, the giant Scottish & Newcastle company launched a bid to take over the Lion Brewery, valuing it at 100 million, but as it was believed all they really wanted was to close it down, eliminating some of their competition, it was opposed by many and even led to the forming of The Matthew Brown Preservation Society. Alas, S & N came back with a valuation of 186 million in 1987 and eventually got their way. By 1992 the brewery was closed, 170 or so people made redundant and the rest, as they say, is history. The lion roars no more."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.