The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Snow day

The children of Stroud had a 'snow day' today. There was a lot of sledging going on in Daisybank, our local park. The sun came out and shone brightly for a few hours, which caused a bit of a thaw, but now the slush is freezing hard again.

I had to teach adults today, so went via town, the bank, the post office, and the bus route. Steve picked me up after work, and we took two students back to their cottage, before parking the car at the bottom of our frozen housing estate and walking up. I've just had a text to say we don't have to be at nursery 'till ten tomorrow, because of the hard freeze expected. Overnight temperatures are predicted to.plummet to minus twelve degrees.

This comes as something of a relief, because I feel under pressure to pack up some cards for sale tomorrow, tend to the Black Worcester pears in the oven, and watch an episode of The Crown series 2 on Netflix, before it's time to change over the Real Marigold on tour. Miriam Margoyles irritates me immensely, but I enjoy finding out about attitudes to, and provision for, retirement across the globe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.