Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Frozen at Newburn

I had to go to Newburn today so that the dental technician could match the colour of my own teeth with the dental implant. This is for the temporary implant that will be followed a few weeks later with the final one.  Yes, I know it has become a saga.

I commented over dinner last night, that I knew very little about Newburn. It's a small village on the south of the Tyne and I knew there was a bridge. When I Googled it, (other search engines are available), I discovered that it has a rich history. including being a more important place that Newcastle in the early days. In more recent times, it was nicknamed Little Sheffield  because of the steel industry. It also had a large brick works in the 19th century and it sounds as though it was a thriving community at that time. 

Today I found a mixture of Victorian and much newer houses. The dental technician is in a street with a maker of dentures and a long established optical glass manufacturer. (Moira's father ran that firm.) How strange that they should be together (with fish and chips sandwiched between two of the shops).

There is a country park by the river  which was grey with ice floating on the surface. See a seagull taking a ride in one extra. Gradually, my eyes started to see more of the colours than the grey and I enjoyed the reflections of the pylons as the sun began to set.

In the churchyard there are many gravestones from the 19th and 18th century. I chose one to blip. The tragedy of the family is revealed. The father, Pattison Newton, did as a result of a rock fall in the mine and his son died the same way, but years later. Sarah, the daughter, was 5 when her father died and she died at the age of 15. Their mother outlived them all. 

The church was locked and there was a notice to say that a recent landfall had moved a wall in the churchyard and uncovered human remains. These will be re-interred in due course. This has not made the local news yet.

Back at home, we are glad to have a working boiler during these cold days, even if we have to put up with hissing and whistling and banging!!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.