Happiness is..........

Could this be a representation of the sweetness and light in the Dower House today- His Lordship wearing a party bow tie and Lady Findhorn in her pinny?
I fear this could be the scenario HL hankers after, the old fashioned gentleman that he is.
However, twenty two years of togetherness and he is slowly being transported to the ways of a ‘new man’ with regard to household duties, although he is still religiously wedded to the chivalry of the older gentleman.

He stands when a lady enters the room, even me (but obviously not in the house, or he’d be up and down like a yo-yo!), he settles me in my chair at a restaurant table, he holds doors open for me, and he walks on the outside of the pavement to prevent my being splattered by water thrown up by cars.

In exchange, I am expected to write Christmas cards to mutual friends and thank you letters for hospitality, persuade him to accept invites to social events, allow him to open doors for me, dust and hoover, although, bless him, he has just voluntarily washed the hall floor. The cooking is shared as we eat completely different menus. The laundry remains an unresolved source of argument because he disputes the fact that I am far more qualified in that area than is he.

Nevertheless this blip is really our self portrait with big smiles on our gingerbread faces, bow tie, pinny and all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.