The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

My Crop Over Floweth

Sometimes you take a picture that makes you fall in love with your camera and Blipfoto all over again.

I must admit, since coming home from Madeira I have really been going through the motions here. There has been so much going on behind the scenes it has been a challenge just to get a photo of some kind of decency up each evening.

Those who read this and know me on Twitter will know that my dad was diagnosed as having prostrate cancer whilst we were away. They seem to have caught it at an early stage, and the prognosis is good, but it is still a worry as he begins his treatment. And then all the worry over where we were going to live next .. but that is now been sorted out. The business has gone from a couple of paying clients to nearly double figures in the past few months. So financial pressures are slowly lifting, our new house is much, much cheaper than this one, which will help massively as well.

There was one monkey I hadn't got off my back ... and that was that bloody Jay shot!

It regularly flies in and lands on the feeder pole. I have tried and tried to get a photo of it over the past five weeks, and have failed on each occasion. All I had was a hard drive full of shots of an empty pole. Well today I didn't just nail it once ... I nailed it twice!

First I got it whilst it was cloudy.

And then I got it in proper sunshine (yes .. sunshine!!)!

And then the final irony ... I got this shot (which was another one I have been trying to get for a while) of it scoffing all the peanuts had thrown on the lawn to try and entice it to land more often! I even managed it catching one mid toss!! It's rather nice viewed full sized if you wish to click the little magnifying glass icon.

I've cropped another one closer, which I almost used instead of this one.

I am rather proud of today's efforts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.