Sit, reflect, dream

Work has finished for me for 4 days. I'll be back to work the non-stat holiday days between Christmas and New Year.

I finished work earlier than usual and spent time with my dear friend with Parkinson's. It wasn't the best of days for her but we sung and held hands enjoying the weekly visit to the home of a great woman with her ukulele.

Once home I started on washing, changing linen, and creating order where chaos has taken over. Now I sit in the sun, sheltered from the wind and sipping my beer.

There is a lot of quiet at my place and I like that. I'm blessed with 2 outdoor areas and provided the weather is good, one or the other gives shelter from the wind.

I'm reflecting on my year and feeling satisfied where I'm at with my work. Four years ago I arrived to be with Mum as she was dying and of course I'm thinking of that. She is a wonderful woman but there will be more said in the coming days.

Behind the potted heuchera in the photo you can see some of the triangle shape of the area at the back.

I'm dreaming of what this will look like as over time I put my mark on it. My vision is a native area with 3 pungas and some Chatham Island forgetmenots in the more shaded and damp part. Tussocks, feature rocks, ground cover, and Marlborough daisies in the dry part. All a reminded of my beloved backcountry.

Today's gratitude: For feeling settled. A year ago I'd just shifted home after my second quake repair and I'd made the decision to spend my non-working hours preparing to sell it. I felt far from settled but knew I needed to do it.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.