Christmas Cocky!

Well look who came calling early on Christmas morning.  This rather handsome cockatoo was happily feeding from the very creative timber feeder on the verandah outside The Burrow.  I had a lovely day with the camera today but I couldn't resist posting this image tonight.  He sort of reminded me of Father Christmas :)

The Airedale Quilt
I discovered today that there is quite a story behind the magnificent quilt hanging in the living room of "The Burrow" where we are staying over Christmas and New Year.  The National Airedale Rescue  in the United States has a tradition of creating a quilt every year and it is then used to fundraise for the organisation.  Apparently tickets are available online and can be purchased by people throughout the world.  In 2012 the theme for the quilt was "The Garden Party" and Sue Forrester the owner of Wombat Bend was the lucky winner.  3,600 tickets were sold raising a total of $18,000 for the cause.  I have added two patches as extras tonight because I would like to be able to share all of the incredible squares while I'm here.  And a message to Misswinterfinch - I promise to post an image of the entire quilt but I will do that right at the end as I want the excitement to build :)). I hope you enjoy:-

The Straw Hat - Block Maker-Pam Jones, Artist-Patty Eisenbraun
And
My Birdie and me - Block Maker-Karen Brown, Artist-Mary Burns Blood

Yesterday's extra patch number 1 was
Lily Pad with frog - Block maker-Dee Marino, Artist-Patty Eisenbraun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.