Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Cows at dawn

This morning I planned to go early up into the hills.  There were no buses so I walked.  I wanted to see the sunrise, but was a couple of minutes late for that.  However, this is one of my early shots, a couple of White British cattle caught in the level rays of the sun.

Then I've put in two extras - might as well finish them up before the end of the year.  The first was taken when the new sun was just glancing over the tumuli, while the whole of the valley was still in shadow - and the second (of course) is of the Exmoor ponies.  In with the ponies are sheep.  I think you can just see them, if you have a big screen. 

I was fascinated to see that, unlike in the valley, some of yesterday's snow was still crisp in the grass along with the overnight frost.  It's always a degree colder up here.  And amazingly it was also frozen onto the backs of the sheep.  Just shows what excellent insulation they have.

This afternoon I went to Romsey to have a coffee with an unwell friend.  It's been a pretty full-on day.  But all I have to do now is cook chilli.  And look at your lovely journals.

Happy Thursday evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.