Capital adventures

By marchmont

Friends

Came home from a swim and a mammoth food buying expedition in Cameron Toll to find a box behind the bin, birthday flowers from my great friend, A, 'up north'. The food and the flowers are for my (significant?) birthday on Tuesday.

Friends - when I think about it K must be the longest.  We sat together on our first day at school nearly 60 years ago. Then more friends from primary J and C, Guides H, secondary J, then K from uni. But the closest, although not the longest are the Inverurie mob, not quite 40 years - Y, A, C, V, K and their men, their kids and now their grandchildren. There are others added later, A from work, S who looked after my kids and me and more recently from the French years E and L.  
And my best, closest friend who has come, and gone.

But I didn't have much time to dwell on that today.     After a busy morning (which featured a round trip  for a forgotten purse and a swimsuit put on inside out in the dark. Dottled, not me!) it was a busy afternoon cooking and getting soaked as I chose to unload the car during a heavy sleet shower. I didn't get to the house cleaning, that will have to be tomorrow and I heard, but did not see, the 2 tranches of fireworks for the torchlight procession.

Molly and I retired to watch another French box set from 'Walter Presents' before an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.