NEW YEARS EVE

Another busy day and another late blip.  

We had a leisurely breakfast before driving to the retail park on the Team Valley Trading Estate.  This is a yearly outing on New Years Eve for Becky, Mike and me to do a bit of shopping in " The Sales".  We went to Next, TK Maxx, Gap, Decathlon, New Look and Asda. We had quite a successful shopping trip. Then we drove to Swalwell to do a bit of food shopping in Lidl.  We popped into a cafe nearby to have lunch but it was near to closing time and they weren't serving any more food.

So we just decided to go to Wetherspoons instead.  I had a chicken and cheese panini, Mike had gammon and chips and Becky had a chicken burger.

Then we headed for home to sort out the shopping and just relax.  Becky settled down on my computer to do some online shopping.

Later on we did our traditional New Years Eve Quiz. I had put together around 60 or so questions -  this year Mike was the winner.

Then it was time for food - another tradition - " New Years Eve Buffet".  Lots of lovely nibbles such as tempura prawns, southern fried chicken,mozzeralla bites, pate, a cheeseboard with crackers, pizza,crisps,prawn bites,olives, nuts..... and more.  Plus profiteroles with chocolate sauce.  Various types of alcohol were available including prosecco, gin,beer and wine.  I had some Crabbies alcoholic ginger beer.

We watched Jool's (Holland's) Annual Hootenanny on TV -  another annual tradition for us. And then it was midnight - time to say Goodbye to 2017 and welcome 2018.  Becky and Mike have made a few resolutions.  I don't usually bother but I have said I will try and make 2018 the year I get a new kitchen - sounds an easy thing to achieve but I have been putting it off for years. 2018 might just be the year.

My blip shot is of me and Becky ( wearing our matching tops which we purchased yesterday ) all ready to start on the buffet food

I have tagged this blip for the Community Challenge New Year 

Steps today - 10,509

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.