MATCH DAY PROGRAMME

Didn't really need any shopping today but I had to go to the bank so I walked down to the village and got my " banking business " out of the way.  Then I went to the chemist to ask advice about my sore mouth.  I knew it would be caused by the antibiotics I have been taking and the pharmacist confirmed that its " oral thrush ".  She advised me to buy some special oral gel which hopefully will do the trick.  ( Its a tiny tube which cost £7 so it had better do the trick!) Then I popped into Herons for ice cream and  Tesco for some grapes. 

My old cookery teacher from grammar school Mrs B was also shopping in Tesco and we had a nice catch up.  I didn't get a Christmas card from her and wondered if something was wrong.  She said that in the last month there had been 5 bereavements in the family (a brother, sister in law and 3 cousins ) so she had been rather preoccupied.  It was lovely to see her as she's always very chatty and " with it ". 

When I got home I started thinking about what to blip for Mono Monday.  The theme word today is " match".  My ticket for the Newcastle match on Saturday ( a Cup game ) arrived this morning and I almost blipped that but I decided to try and find something more unusual. 

I had a look through my late husbands programme collection.  There must be thousands of programmes so I only had a quick look for something a bit out of the ordinary.  The programme I chose is dated 6th November 1960 and is from the match between a Showbiz X1 and Charlie Mitten's All Star X1.

The showbiz team included Billy Wright ( he had over 100 caps for playing in the England team ), Dave King ( comedy entertainer ), Ronnie Carroll ( top vocal star ) Tommy Steele ( singer, musician, actor and comedian ) .... and Sean Connery ( actor - and future James Bond ).

Charlie Mitten was a footballer who started his career at Manchester United and also played for Fulham and Mansfield.  He later became  Manager of  Fulham and Altrincham . And he was the " outspoken " manager of Newcastle United at the time of this match in 1960.  His All Star X1 included Frank Brennan  a Scot who played for Newcastle United in the 50's, George Hardwick - former England captain and Middlesbrough star, Harry Bell who played for Middlesbrough and Darlington and Len Shackleton - " The Clown Prince of Soccer " who played for Newcastle United and Sunderland and then went on to become a sports journalist.

I hope someone finds all that info interesting.  Thanks to JohnEdward for hosting Mono Monday.

I had one Extra left so I have posted a shot I took as I was walking home from the village past the Cricket Club.  Another lovely evening sky.  We have been getting a lot of them recently.

So its New Years Eve.  For the first time in years and years I'm by myself.  Not that I mind - its just unusual.  And so quiet.  I do have an alcoholic beverage ( or two ) to toast in the New Year.  So " Cheers " to all my blip friends - and Happy New Year.  I do hope 2019 brings everything you wish for. XXXX

Steps today - 7,632

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.