Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Farewell 2017

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I didn't get to my computer at all yesterday, so posting this on 1st January 2018!

Yesterday turned out to be very busy! G had wanted to travel to Trowbridge to meet up with her brother, but he wasn't available, so we did our usual Sunday morning thing, and went to church. Last time with our friends until the next time we visit. We had a good service and said our goodbyes.

Then, instead of coming straight home to what should have been a cooked meal, we somehow ended up visiting our friends Ian and Barbara in Hindhead! Nice to see them again, especially as they are so close now, and we left them to get ready for their 6:30 pm New Year's Eve party...

We got home and had enough time to sit for a bit and get the Lodge in shape for the new year. I didn't want it untidy. Packed all the stuff we needed and headed off to Margaret's for 7. First time in ages we've spent NYE with friends, and local ones too! Margaret invited her neighbour Edwina who she usually spends New Year's Eve with, but this time, they both stayed up to midnight, and were so thrilled they did, in fact Margaret even said about going up to London next year!!

It's been a great way to ring in a new year with new friends. May I wish everyone who visits and reads my journal the very best for 2018. I hope it is good for you in every way.

My main photo is of three trees that caught my eye when we were stopped at traffic lights opposite Stoke Park. I think they symbolise so much... bare now, but will be full of life in a few weeks/months...

AND, I have used up all my Extras (I think). Two left, so one here, and one for my 2nd December journal which I had wanted to post, but forgot! Those Ajman traffic lights are just too much! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.