Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Farewell 2018

I'm sure other years have been tough, but I honestly can't think of a more challenging year than 2018. It's had great bits but I am so happy to be saying "goodbye" to it and am really hoping 2019 is much kinder to us all.

So, my extras are two symbolic pictures... the dead leaves on the ground should be self-explanatory, I hope. Fallen randomly and in their entirety, but still painting a pretty picture; and the drive home from Guildford on the A25 - a road that goes through beautiful countryside and is a pleasure to drive on, when there isn't a cyclist in front of you! The GM slogan "Finding new roads" comes to mind...

The day started with my alarm going off. What a racket! I booked haircuts for us both and we both look less like hippies! We went on to Guildford High Street, mainly to visit the bank and also to do the last bits of shopping that we need to take home (except *someone* forgot to get Vitamin D tablets).

Back home and we had enough time to knock the place in shape, not just for the new year, but also for the guests we invited for tea. All done in time and we had a very relaxed visit. They brought their dog Meg who made herself right at home! It's the first time we've had a pet in here.

The biggest thing I did after that was book our flights to go to Hong Kong for SweetArt's 50th in April. There was a promotion deadline, and there's nothing quite like leaving it to the last minute especially taking into account the four hour time difference with Dubai deadlines.

The evening was spent watching Jane McDonald (no idea why today is the first time I have become aware of her!) and other musical acts (Jools Holland, Suggs). G got into her jammies and announced she was at a pyjama party. We've had a nice (Zonin White) Prosecco to welcome 2019 and the London fireworks really were outstanding. Co-ordinating them to music must take some genius to work out.

I should get to bed soon... there are a few things I'd like to accomplish tomorrow or later today! Hope 2019 is good for you in every way and kinder to us than 2018 was!

PS. My main image was taken on opening night of what was then the newly launched Burj Dubai. G & I found ourselves at the base of the building at just the right time. Handheld as always. A bit of Dubai/Sherry history!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.