dreaming

By dreaming

A bright white

Looking for something tiny for today, I found this plant at Carkeek Park.  I don't know what it is, but I like the delicate, almost fragile appearance,  I didn't spend much time outdoors today because it is dreadfully cold and damp.  I used to be someone who was always too warm, never turning on the heat until well into November, but in the last year or so I find it hard to get and stay warm.  I've bought warm high necked sweaters that I wear even at home.  I'm dreading my next electric statement.  Fortunately due to Seattle City Light's eccentric senior discount program, I actually pay nothing for my electricity.  I try not to abuse the privilege, but it's great to feel I can use as much heat as I wish.

We had a lovely family New Year's Day gathering at Endless Weekend's house yesterday - chicken curry for dinner (an old recipe we all love) and several hands of a new card game that Sarah and boyfriend Nick taught us.  It involves each player working with eleven cards in the hand, which was fine for the men (especially Nick, who was a football player in college and has large hands) but was tricky for the small-handed women in our family.  But it was great fun and a wonderful evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.