Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Feast of Epiphany

January 6th is traditionally the day on which to remember the visit of the Magi to see the baby Jesus and to celebrate the revelation of God incarnate to the Gentiles.

We celebrated with Margret next door. She invited us to celebrate my birthday (very early) along with our friend, Jenny (a bit early). Dennis, Jenny's husband was there too. We had a lovely meal. 

Margret and Guy always had a real tree with real candles. Margret bought a small one this year and Sean, our lovely village postman, lifted it into the house for her.

I love the little German orchestra, seen in front of the tree. They are from the Harz mountains and they are delightful.

My blip was taken hand held by candlelight, so there is quite a bit of noise in the image. I hope the atmosphere is captured.

We were at home today. Karl, the electrician, came and did a few jobs for us. Mum's lounge is now bathed in light, which should make life easier for her. (I think I might need sunglasses.) The new bulbs are guaranteed for 3 years and expected to last for 15!!

The rest of life is much the same.

PS inukshukne tells me that Epiphany is also the time to celebrate Women's Christmas. I had not heard of this before and it appears to be an Irish tradition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.